Divali festival souvenir magazine 2012

The Brilliance of Indo-Trinidadian Literary Writers

Indo-Caribbean Divali Publication Ltd. ( IDP) wishes to announce the publication of its latest souvenir magazine – Divali 2012, Trinidad and Tobago. The theme of this edition of its annual magazine is “The Brilliance of Indo-Trinidadian Literary Writers.”

After Carnival, Divali is the second largest open-air national festival in multi-ethnic Trinidad and Tobago. The Hindu Festival of Lights is celebrated by lighting of thousands of deyas [clay lamps] on decorative designs of split bamboo tubes. The lights twinkle in the shadows of free public performances by actors, models, drummers, dancers, musicians and singers. During the days and nights preceding Divali, non-Hindus and non-Indians actively join in the celebration by lighting deyas, wearing Indian clothes, and partaking in eating traditional Indian foods and sweets.

From the 1930s, Seepersad Naipaul and his family began to establish themselves as the first literary dynasty, not only among Indo-Trinidadians, but also among writers throughout the English-speaking Caribbean. Seepersad was followed by his son Vidia (VS), who won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1992, and has been the only Trinidadian to claim this internationally coveted prize so far. The Naipauls have been followed by writers up to this day such as Neil Bissoondath, Rabindranath Maharaj, Ron Ramdin, Raymond Ramcharitar and Kevin Baldeosingh. Acclaimed women writers include Rajandaye Ramkissoon-Chen, Madeleine Coopsammy, Lakshmi Persaud, Ramabai Espinet, Shani Mootoo and Niala Maharaj. It would surely be akin to blindness not to notice the happy coincidence of the literary success from these women, and the ground-breaking appointment of an Indian woman as Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago in the person of Kamla Persad-Bissessar.


  • About Divali Festival in Trinidad and Tobago
  • Editorial: The Brilliance of Indo-Trinidadian Literary Writers
  • Greetings from the Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago – The Honourable Kamla Persad-Bissessar
  • Greetings from the Minister of Arts and Multiculturalism – Dr. the Honourable Lincoln Douglas
  • Greetings from the Minister of National Diversity and Social Integration – The Honourable Clifton De Coteau
  • Arti Jankie – “Home was also a place rich in Hindu Literature”
  • Balkrishna Naipaul – In 2006, he was recognized as a World Renowned Author of Books
  • Clem Maharaj – His novel sits alongside much earlier works by Earl Lovelace and George Lamming
  • Isaiah James Boodhoo – In his latest series of paintings, Boodhoo uses the symbols of Hinduism
  • Ismith Khan – Khan has an ear for dialect
  • JangbahadurBhagirathee – He is pursuing his dream of directing a film based on his book
  • Joy Mahabir – Story-telling does not get much better than that [in Jouvert]
  • Kavita Ganness – She turns her thoughts into images that are raw, funny, emotional, dramatic….
  • Kenneth Parmasad – He was instrumental in promoting Indian consciousness in Trinidad
  • Kevin Baldeosingh – In his 20- year career as a professional writer, he has been extraordinarily prolific
  • Krishna A. Samaroo – His work has received much acclaim and has garnered prizes
  • Lakshmi Persaud – Warwick University in the UK has established a Research Fellowship in her name
  • Lester Siddhartha Orie – The 1988 edition of LEADERS Magazine has featured his response to a question
  • Madeline Frances Coopsammy – The title of her poem became the theme of a conference in the Indian Diaspora in Toronto
  • Neil Devindra Bissoondath – Bissoondath emerged in the Canadian literary landscape since 1985
  • Niala Maharaj – She has travelled worldwide, working as a freelance journalist
  • Peggy Mohan – In Jahajin, Mohan has produced… a compelling ring of truth
  • Rabindranath Maharaj – Maharaj has won a major literary prize for almost every book that he has written
  • Rajandaye Ramkissoon Chen – Her short story appeared in a BBC Commonwealth Short Story Competition
  • Ramabai Espinet – …an extraordinary achievement in the exercise of remembering
  • Raymond Ramcharitar – One of the most talented writers working in the Naipaulian themes
  • Ron Ramdin – Ramdin works remarkably well without the benefit of supervision
  • Rosanne Kanhai – …the invisibility of published works by Indo-Caribbean women must be acknowledged
  • Ruth Sawh – She writes mostly fiction, a dash of nonfiction and a sprinkle of poetry
  • Samuel Selvon – One of the most widely read writers of the Anglophone Caribbean
  • Seepersad Naipail – Seepersad is the first progenitor of a literary dynasty in the English-speaking Caribbean
  • Shani Mootoo – Her work captures the complexity of being a multi-resident individual
  • Sharlow(e) Mohammed – He writes satirically about the fundamentalist Christian missionaries who raided Trinidad
  • Shivadhar Naipaul – His works should be our bookshelves because of its comic mischief and pain
  • V. S. Naipaul – He is the only Trinidadian who received a Nobel Prize to this day
  • Vahni Capildeo – Her work has been included in The Oxford Book of Caribbean Verse
  • Vishnu Gosine – He is a man worth mentioning in Trinidad Literature
November- December 2012
11 x 8 ½ inches.
Glossy pages and cover.
ISSN 1683-4143
80 pages with advertisements and articles.

Order Copies


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s